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Office of the State Controller 
State-Mandated Costs Claiming Instructions No. 2008-11 

California State Teachers’ Retirement System (CalSTRS) Service Credit –  
Program No. 286 
School Districts 

September 2, 2008 
Revised September 1, 2020 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants 
may submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred 
for state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms 
that eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the California State Teachers’ Retirement 
System (CALSTRS) Service Credit program. SCO issues these claiming instructions 
subsequent to the Commission on State Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s 
Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are an integral part of the claiming 
instructions and are located on CSM’s website. 

On April 16, 2007, CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
legislation imposes a reimbursable state-mandate program on school districts within the 
meaning of article XIIIB, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514.  

Exception 
There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 
Any school district, as defined in GC section 17519, with the exception of community college 
districts, is eligible to claim reimbursement for increased cost incurred as a result of this 
mandate. Separate claiming instructions are written for community colleges. Refer to 
CALSTRS Services Credit for Community Colleges, program 287. Charter schools and block 
grant recipients are not eligible to claim for reimbursement.  

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 
Pursuant to GC section 17560(a), annual reimbursement claims may be filed by February 15 
following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. If the deadline falls on a weekend or 
holiday, claims are due the following business day. Claims filed after the deadline must be 
reduced by a late penalty. Claims filed more than one year after the deadline will not be 
accepted. 

Penalty 

• Initial Reimbursement Claims 
When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC 
section 17561(d)(3). 

 

 

https://www.csm.ca.gov/decisions/272.pdf
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• Annual Reimbursement Claims 
When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 

Minimum Claim Cost 
GC section 17564(a), states that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 17551 and 
17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000). However, a county 
superintendent of schools may submit a combined claim on behalf of school districts within 
their county if the combined claim exceeds $1,000, even if the individual school district’s 
claim does not each exceed $1,000. If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed 
$1,000, no reimbursement will be allowed except as otherwise allowed by GC section 17564. 
The county superintendent of schools will determine if the submission of the combined claim 
is economically feasible and be responsible for disbursing the funds to each school district. 
These combined claims may be filed only when the county superintendent of schools is the 
fiscal agent for the districts. A combined claim must show the individual claim costs for each 
eligible school district. All subsequent claims based upon the same mandate must be filed in 
the combined form only unless a school district provides a written notice of its intent to file a 
separate claim to the county superintendent of schools and to the SCO at least 180 days 
prior to the deadline for filing the claim. 

Reimbursement of Claims 
To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was 
incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not 
limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, 
cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training 
packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I 
certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the 
foregoing is true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil 
Procedure section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance 
with the SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by CSM. If any adjustments 
are made to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for 
the adjustment.  

On-site audits will be conducted by SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5(a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to audit by 
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SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed or last 
amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time 
for SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to SCO on request.  

Record Retention 
All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three 
years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for SCO to 
initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and 
must be made available to SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign 
the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  
 
Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website. 
 
Use the following mailing addresses: 
 
If delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 
 
Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Local Government Programs and Services Division 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA 94250 
 
If delivered by other delivery services: 
 
Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Local Government Programs and Services Division 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA 95816 
 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email, by telephone at 
(916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above. 

http://www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html
mailto:LRSLGPSD@sco.ca.gov
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State of California  
State Controller's Office 

CALIFORNIA STATE TEACHERS’ RETIREMENT 
SYSTEM (CALSTRS) SERVICE CREDIT  

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT FORM 

For State Controller Use Only 

(19) Program Number 00286 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 

Program 

286 
(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 
(02) Claimant Name (22)  FORM 1, (04) A. 1.(f)  

County of Location (23)  FORM 1, (04) B. 1.(f)  

Street Address or P.O. Box and Suite (24)  FORM 1, (04) B. 2.(f) 
 

City, State, and Zip Code (25)  FORM 1, (04) B. 3.(f) 
 

(03) Type of Claim (26)  FORM 1, (06)  

(04) (09) Reimbursement (27)  FORM 1, (07)  

(05) (10) Combined (28)  FORM 1, (09)  

(06) (11) Amended (29)  FORM 1, (10)  

(07) (12) Fiscal Year of Cost (30)   

(08) (13) Total Claimed Amount (31)   

(14) Less: 10% Late Penalty (32)   

(15) Less: Prior Claim Payment Received (33)   

(16) Net Claimed Amount (34)   

(17) Due from State (35)   

(18) Due to State (36)   

 
 

Signature of Authorized Officer Date Signed  

Telephone Number  
Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory Email Address  

 
 

(38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim Telephone Number  

Email Address  
Name of Consulting Firm/Claim Preparer Telephone Number  

Email Address  

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer 
authorized by the school district or county office of education to file mandated cost claims with the State of 
California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not violated any of the provisions of 
Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 of the Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grant(s) or payment(s) received, 
for reimbursement of costs claimed herein; claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services 
of an existing program; and claimed amounts do not include charter school costs, either directly or through a 
third party. All offsetting revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, 
and all costs claimed are supported by source documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 
The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the 
attached statements. 

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 
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State of California  
State Controller's Office 

Program 

286 
CALIFORNIA STATE TEACHERS’ RETIREMENT SYSTEM (CALSTRS) 

SERVICE CREDIT  
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT  

INSTRUCTIONS 

 
FORM 

FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, 
city, state, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) If filing a combined reimbursement claim on behalf of districts within the county, enter 
an "X" in the box on line (10) Combined. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) 
Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year in which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more 
than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete a separate Form FAM-27 for each 
fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1, line (11). The 
total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial reimbursement claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. 
Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or as specified in the 
claiming instructions following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. Claims 
filed after the specified date must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim 
was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the result from the following penalty calculation 
formula: 

• Late Initial Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, 
without limitation; or 

 
• Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 

10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 
 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was 
received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line 
(13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from 
State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to 
State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 
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State of California  
State Controller's Office 

Program 

286 
CALIFORNIA STATE TEACHERS’ RETIREMENT SYSTEM (CALSTRS) 

SERVICE CREDIT  
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT  

INSTRUCTIONS (CONTINUED) 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(22) to (29) Bring forward the cost information as specified in the left-hand column of lines (22) 
through (29) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., Form 1, (04) A. 1. (f), means the 
information is located on Form 1, block (04), line A. 1., column (f). Enter the information 
on the same line but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to 
the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. The indirect costs percentage should be shown as a 
whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 7.548% should be shown as 8. 
Completion of this data block will expedite the process. 

(30) to (36) Leave blank. 
 (37)  Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be signed and dated by 

the agency’s authorized officer, and include their typed or printed name, title, 
telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by 
an original signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach 
the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

 
  (38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person 

for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a consultant, type or print the name of the 
consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 
SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER 
FORMS TO: 
 
Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 
 
Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Local Government Programs and Services Division 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA 94250 

 
Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 
 
Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Local Government Programs and Services Division 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA 95816 
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PROGRAM 

286 
CALIFORNIA STATE TEACHERS’ RETIREMENT  

SYSTEM (CALSTRS) SERVICE CREDIT 
 CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02)  

 
     Fiscal Year 
  

(03) Leave blank.  

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04) Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) 

Salaries 
and 

Benefits 

Materials 
 and 

Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

 
Travel 

 
Total 

A. One-Time Activity 

1. Separation Notice       

B. Ongoing Activities 

1. Employment Notices 
      

2. Sick Leave Days 
      

3. Military Service Reemployment 
      

(05) Total Direct Costs       

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  %l 

(07) Total Indirect Costs 
 

[Line (05)(f) minus line (05)(d) minus $                        ] x line (06)  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(f) + line (07)]  

Cost Reduction   

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) minus {line (09) + line (10)}]  

20  /20  
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PROGRAM 

286 
CALIFORNIA STATE TEACHERS’ RETIREMENT  

SYSTEM (CALSTRS) SERVICE CREDIT 
CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  Leave blank. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (h), to Form 
1, block (04), columns (a) through (e), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (f). 

(06)  Enter the approved indirect cost rate from the California Department of Education for the year that funds 
are expended. 

(07)  From the Total Direct Costs, line (05)(f), deduct Total Fixed Assets, line (05)(d) and any other item 
excluded from indirect cost distribution base in accordance with the California School Accounting 
Manual, Procedure 915. Enter zero if there are no exclusions. Multiply the result by the Indirect Cost 
Rate, line (06). 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(f), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any offsetting revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or 
federal source. Submit a schedule detailing the revenue sources and amounts. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of the 
mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and 
Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to Form 
FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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PROGRAM 

286 
CALIFORNIA STATE TEACHERS’ RETIREMENT  

SYSTEM (CALSTRS) SERVICE CREDIT 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 

(01) Claimant (02)                                                               Fiscal Year 
20___ / 20___ 

(03) Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

A. One-Time Activity B. Ongoing Activities 

 1. Separation Notice                        1. Employment Notices 

   2. Sick Leave Days 

   3. Military Service Reemployment 

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 
Employee Names, Job 

Classifications, Functions Performed, 
and Description of Expenses 

(b) 
Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 
Hours 

Worked or 
Quantity 

(d) 
Salaries 

and 
Benefits 

(e) 
Materials 

and  
Supplies 

(f) 
Contract 
Services 

(g) 
Fixed 

Assets 

(h) 
Travel 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

       

 
(05) Total           Subtotal            Page: ____of____ 
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PROGRAM

286 

CALIFORNIA STATE TEACHERS’ RETIREMENT  
SYSTEM (CALSTRS) SERVICE CREDIT 

ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form.  A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To itemize 
costs for the activity checked in block (03), enter each employee name, job classification, a brief 
description of the activities performed, productive hourly rate, actual time spent, fringe benefits, 
supplies used, contract services, fixed assets, and travel expenses. The descriptions required in 
column (04)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed. 

 

Object  
Accounts 

Columns Submit 
Supporting 
Documents 

with the Claim (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) 

 
 

Salaries 
 

and 
 

Benefits 

Employee 
Name and Job 
Classification 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries equal 
Hourly Rate 
times Hours 

Worked 

Not 
applicable Not applicable Not applicable Not 

applicable Not applicable 

 
 

Activities 
Performed 

Benefit 
Rate Not applicable 

Benefits equal 
Benefit Rate 

times Salaries 

Not 
applicable Not applicable Not applicable Not 

applicable Not applicable 

Materials 
 and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used Not applicable 

Costs equal 
Unit Cost 

times 
Quantity 

Used 

Not applicable Not applicable Not 
applicable Not applicable 

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

And Specific 
Tasks 

Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours Worked 
and Inclusive 

Dates of 
Service 

Not applicable Not 
applicable 

Costs equal 
Hourly Rate 
times Hours 
 Worked or 

Total Contract 
Cost 

Not applicable Not 
applicable 

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
 Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit Cost 
times Quantity Usage Not applicable Not 

applicable Not applicable 
Costs equal 
Total Cost   

times Usage 

Not 
applicable 

Copy of 
Contract 
and/ or 
Invoices 

Travel 

Purpose of Trip, 
Name and Title, 

Destination, 
Departure and 
Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate, 

Mileage Rate, 
and Travel 

Cost 

Days, 
Miles, and 

Travel Mode 
Not applicable Not 

applicable Not applicable Not applicable 
Costs equal 
Rate times 

Days or Miles 
Not applicable 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (h) and enter the sums on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (h) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (e) in the appropriate row. 
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